Jumbo Vegan Carrot Cake Muffins

Jumbo Vegan Carrot Cake Muffins (could there be anything better???)

(Ok, they look kinda funky but they are good trust me!!)

My first recipe!!! If only I had this blog the past year there would be the most amazing recipes on here, not to brag or anything. Most of what I bake is vegan but if I’m making it for other people sometimes I skip that part because you can’t say that people don’t get a little turned off when you say “I made you a cake with flour and tofu!” So you sometimes have to take what you can get. I found this particular recipe on Pinterest, which is not a surprise at all since I find everything on there. So if you are a Pinterest/vegan hater in that order than find recipes elsewhere please! Otherwise, enjoy!!!

sidenote: The recipe says to make around 25 cupcakes but all I had was a muffin pan that fit 6 muffins sooo that’s how it turned out but who doesn’t love gigantic chunky muffins first thing in the morning anyway?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 cups carrots, grated
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl mix baking powder and applesause into a foamy mixture, set aside.
  2. In a large bowl mix flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.
  3. Add oil, carrots, pineapple (some of the juice might help), and applesauce mixture.
  4. Mix well.
  5. Add flaked coconut, nuts, or raisins if desired.
  6. Scoop mixture into 24 cupcake liners.
  7. Bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Once cooled, frost with icing (powdered sugar, ‘fake’ butter, vanilla, and water).

Leave a comment